“As soon as you trust yourself, you will know how to live.”

JOHANN WOLFGANG VON GOETHE

The “awakened mind” – the optimally functioning brain

During the period between the 1970’s and the 1990’s, Anna Wise and C. Maxwell Code analysed the functionality of the brain using special EEG measurements – particularly the brains of extraordinary people, be it from the fields of economy and technology, be it from fields of art and acting or spirituality and medicine. They wanted to know what type of brain currents and frequencies these people have, what makes them so special and magnificent – they developed the “Mirror Mind of EEG” for the analysis.

Brain waves are broken down into frequency ranges:
Beta38 – 14 HzAwakened state of consciousness, reason, logical thinking
Alpha14 – 8 HzDaydreaming, fantasies, visualising
Theta8 – 4 HzSubconsciousness, dream sleep, meditation, extraordinarily clear thinking
Delta4 – 0,5 HzUnconscious, deep sleep, intuition, instinct, empathy

The state of consciousness consists of a combination of 4 categories at any given time. Within the scope of this rough classification into brain-wave categories, there are various different forms of frequencies.

The various frequencies can be considered like notes in a symphony – being sometimes melodious and sometimes inharmonious. The trick is to create a strong powerful and harmonic symphony of brains waves, to control single notes and combine them with each other in a sensible manner.

No brain-wave type is better than the other; it depends on the combination to achieve a level of top performance which cannot necessarily be to be quantified by measurable success alone, but also by internal balance, connection and happiness.

Alpha brain waves

The alpha range deserves special attention. It is the bridge between our active consciousness on the one hand, and the subconscious and unconscious on the other. Without alpha, we have no access to our “internal” contacts, to our internal worlds, have no internal inspirations, and do not remember our dreams for example. If we remember our dreams shortly after waking, we still have enough alpha available. Often, the recollection of dreams is suddenly gone if we simply open the eyes for a brief moment when beta takes over and a reduction of alpha takes place. The same is also valid for the information deriving from the very early morning creative states of consciousness, when „drifting away“ shortly after waking. Just as precise this information can be, just as fast it disappears again in the “sub”-conscious, it disappears again if alpha becomes too weak and beta too strong.

Alpha only originates in a relaxed and laid-back consciousness, preferably with your eyes closed. Alpha occurs in the case of all types of imagination, fantasies and visualising.

Too much alpha leads into a fog of daydreaming and fantasies and then also sometimes into an escape from reality. Here, beta is again the controlling brain-wave type.

Theta brain waves

The creativity, the fantasy, the visualisation, the deep relaxation, the meditation and the connection to spirituality arises from theta. Theta is below the level of conscious perception and requires a high alpha to the access to this level.

If Theta is underdeveloped, this can be the consequence of past injuries, resulting traumas which are deeply hidden within the subconscious. In this case, the psyche has decided on this – an important protection to be effective during the course of everyday life. However, for the most part, this can also be balanced and compensated for again using suitable methods.

Theta is also influenced by former drug-taking, thereby altering cerebral networks. This can also be the result of the influence of technical radiation.

Too much theta can be seen in the case of ADHS – attention deficit disorder, hyperactivity disorder, learning impediments, behavioural conspicuities, fears and depressions.

Delta brain waves

In the delta range, there are the instincts and premonitions (for example, that the telephone is about to ring). These abilities can be developed to the extent that we can perceive feelings, needs and the attitudes of other individuals very well. People in medical professions and psychotherapy often possess a high intensity of delta.

Delta waves are also shown in the case of extrasensory and telepathic perception and phenomena.

An excess of delta waves can result in being too perceptive for the feelings of others and not being able to differentiate yourself. People with this tendency should learn to turn toward one’s self in a balanced manner, distance one’s self and set limits.

Beta brain waves

Beta is the area of thought known by all of us and sense of reason. It is especially important, otherwise we would lose ourselves in undirected states of consciousness as is often observed in cases of autism. However, with an augmented beta proportion, we don’t allow any room for any other brain waves and are separated from other planes of consciousness at our disposal.

To reduce beta, you can practice relaxing your tongue and slowing down respiration. Concentration exercises are helpful.

The “awakened mind” – the optimally functioning brain

„Sobald Du Dir vertraust, sobald wirst Du leben.“

JOHANN WOLFGANG VON GOETHE

Der „awakened mind“ – das optimal funktionierende Gehirn

Anna Wise und C. Maxwell Code analysierten zwischen den 1970er und späten 1990er Jahren mit Hilfe von speziellen EEG Messungen die Funktionsweise des Gehirns – besonders von außergewöhnlichen Menschen, sei es aus Wirtschaft und Technik, sei es aus Kunst und Schauspiel oder Spiritualität und Medizin. Sie wollten wissen, was diese Menschen für Gehirnströme und Frequenzen haben, was sie so besonders und heraus- ragend macht – sie entwickelten zur Analyse das „Mirror Mind EEG“.

Die Gehirnwellen werden unterteilt in die Frequenzbereiche:
Beta     38 – 14 Hz Wachbewusstsein, Vernunft, logisches Denken
Alpha 14 – 8 Hz Tagträumen, Phantasien, Visualisieren
Theta 8 – 4 Hz Unterbewusstsein, Traumschlaf, Meditation, außergewöhnlich klares Denken
Delta 4 – 0,5 Hz Unbewusstes, Tiefschlaf, Intuition, Instinkt, Einfühlungsvermögen

Der Bewusstseinszustand setzt sich zu jeder Zeit aus einer Kombination der 4 Kategorien zusammen. Innerhalb der groben Einteilung in die Gehirnwellenkategorien gibt es eine vielfältige Ausprägung unterschiedlicher Frequenzen.

Die unterschiedlichen Frequenzen kann man sich wie Noten in einer Sinfonie vorstellen – manchmal melodiös und manchmal misstönend. Die Kunst ist es, eine starke kraftvolle und harmonische Sinfonie der Hirnwellen zu schaffen, die einzelnen Noten zu beherrschen und sie sinnvoll miteinander zu verbinden.

Keine Hirnwellenart ist besser; es kommt auf die Kombination an, um Höchstleistungen zu erreichen, die nicht unbedingt nur mit messbarem Erfolg zu quantifizieren sind, sondern auch mit innerer Balance, Verbindung und Glück.

Alpha Hirnwellen

Besondere Aufmerksamkeit verdient der Alpha-Bereich. Er ist die Brücke zwischen unserem Wachbewusstsein auf der einen Seite und dem Unterbewusstsein und Unbewussten auf der anderen Seite. Ohne Alpha haben wir keinen Zugang zu unseren „inneren“ Kontakten, zu unseren inneren Welten, haben keine inneren Eingebungen, erinnern z.B. unsere Träume nicht. Wenn wir die Träume kurz nach dem Aufwachen erinnern, haben wir noch ausreichend Alpha verfügbar. Oft ist die Erinnerung der Träume abrupt weg, wenn wir die Augen nur einmal kurz aufmachen, wenn Beta die Führung übernimmt und Alpha reduziert wird. Das Gleiche gilt auch für die Informationen aus den frühmorgendlichen kreativen Bewusstseinszuständen, beim „sich treiben lassen“ kurz nach dem Aufwachen. So präzise die Informationen dabei auch sind, so schnell sind sie auch wieder im „Unter“- Bewusstsein verschwunden, wenn Alpha zu schwach und Beta zu stark wird.

Alpha entsteht nur in einem entspannten und gelösten Bewusstsein, möglichst mit geschlossenen Augen. Alpha tritt bei allen Arten der Imagination, der Phantasien und dem Visualisieren auf.

Zuviel Alpha führt in einen Nebel von Tagträumen und Phantasien und dann auch mal in eine Flucht vor der Realität. Hier ist Beta wieder die kontrollierende Hirnwellenart.

Theta Hirnwellen

Aus Theta entspringt die Kreativität, die Phantasie, die Visualisierung, die Tiefenentspannung, die Meditation und die Verbindung zur Spiritualität. Theta ist unterhalb der bewussten Wahrnehmung und benötigt ein hohes Alpha zum Zugriff auf diese Ebene.

Ist Theta unterentwickelt, kann das die Folge von Verletzungen aus der Vergangenheit sein, entstandene Traumata, die tief im Unterbewussten verborgen sind. Die Psyche hat sich dann hierzu entschieden – ein wichtiger Schutz, um noch im Alltag wirken zu können. Doch auch dies lässt sich mit geeigneten Methoden meist wieder ausgleichen und balancieren.

Theta wird auch von früherem Drogenkonsum beeinflusst, dabei werden Gehirnvernetzungen verändert. Auch bei entsprechendem Einfluss von technischen Strahlungen kann dies die Folge sein.

Zuviel Theta beobachtet man beim ADHS- Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit, bei Hyperaktivitätsstörung, Lernbehinderungen, Verhaltensauffälligkeiten, Ängsten und Depressionen.

Delta Hirnwellen

Im Deltabereich finden sich die Instinkte und Vorahnungen (dass z.B. gleich das Telefon klingeln wird). Diese Fähigkeiten lassen sich soweit entwickeln, dass wir Gefühle, Bedürfnisse und Einstellungen anderer Menschen sehr fein wahrnehmen können. Menschen in Heilberufen und Psychotherapie haben oft eine hohe Intensität von Delta.

Auch bei außersinnlichen und telepathischen Wahrnehmungen und Phänomenen zeigen sich Deltawellen.

Ein Übermaß an Deltawellen führt dazu, zu sehr wahrnehmend für die Gefühle anderer zu sein und sich nicht abgrenzen zu können. Menschen mit dieser Tendenz sollten lernen, balanciert sich selbst zuzuwenden, sich zu distanzieren und Grenzen zu setzen.

Beta Hirnwellen

Beta ist der uns allen bekannte Bereich des Denkens und der Vernunft. Er ist besonders wichtig, sonst würden wir uns verlieren in ungerichteten Bewusstseinszuständen, wie man es bei Autisten häufig beobachtet. Jedoch mit einem übermäßigen Beta-Anteil lassen wir den anderen Hirnwellen keinen Raum und befinden uns abgetrennt von anderen uns verfügbaren Bewusstseinsebenen.

Um Beta zu reduzieren kann man üben, die Zunge zu entspannen und die Atmung zu verlangsamen. Konzentrationsübungen sind hilfreich.

Der „awakened mind“ – das optimal funktionierende Gehirn